Wednesday, December 31, 2008

Wait a second!

Tonight, midnight arrives one second later. I just read in and BBC News that a leap second will be added to 2008 to adjust the atomic clocks. Apparently, the earth's daily rotation is not always exactly 24 hours. Disruptions to the earth's core, extreme weather, volcanic eruptions as well as earthquakes can influence the length of a day. Since 1972, there have been 23 leap seconds added.

I read that if you have an atomic clock, you can actually see the second being added -- or see time delayed. I'll be watching the one clock I do have that reads atomic time. According to the Official US Time, there will be a leap second (an extra second) just after 23:59:59 UTC on December 31st, 2008. That is just after 06:59:59 p.m. ET, 05:59:59 p.m. CT, 04:59:59 MTand 03:59:59 p.m. PT.

Happy New Year!

Wednesday, December 03, 2008

Need a Free 2009 Calendar?

The IRS has a downloadable tax calendar -- its FREE, and actually useful for small businesses. You can also download the useful IRS tax due dates and import into iCal and Outlook.

This calendar lists tons of tax links for small businesses and lists of related publications. It also contains an interesting help and tips section.